ArchLinux: My ultimate GNU/Linux distro of choice

August 18, 2008

Finally, after testing, using and experimenting with dozens of GNU/Linux distributions during the last 4 years, I’ve found my ultimate distro of choice. It’s ArchLinux. I’ve never been so happy to be a GNU/Linux user as today.

ArchLinux, is exactly what I was looking for. I’m strong believer in the concept of rolling updates because I think it’s the best way for GNU/Linux to take on in the Desktop usage.

Out of many GNU/Linux Distro I’ve tried, only two caught my interest. ArchLinux followed by PCLinuxOS. The only difference between them is that PCLinuxOS is more easy to install while ArchLinux is more easy to maintain. As a result ArchLinux has more recent packages than PCLinuxOS.

Another great thing about ArchLinux is the quality of its documentation. It’s excellent, everything is detailed and simple to follow.

And I’ve never seen any full-fledged GNU/Linux distro running so fast as ArchLinux. That’s because it’s not bloated with useless apps, the user chooses what to install and what not, and because its packages are optimized for i686.

ArchLinux Community plays an important role in providing help and maintaining AUR packages. I can confidently say that ArchLinux Community is a remarkable and vibrant one.

So far, I’ve had only one issue with it. My DVD recorder couldn’t burn above 2x which was due SATA Kernel module. It’s needless to say that not only I was able to fix the issue in a few moments but the way ArchLinux reconfigured the Kernel was lightning fast.

All I can say is Kudos to ArchLinux members and to ArchLinux Community. Really, a Big Thank You to everyone.

Now, I can focus on doing my work instead of fighting with my OS.

7 Responses to “ArchLinux: My ultimate GNU/Linux distro of choice”

  1. Decaturguy Says:

    Hi!

    I’ve been using GNU/Linux on and off since 2000 and tried many distros.
    Nothing compares to Archlinux, i started using it almost 3 years ago after a long break from GNU/Linux. Now all my desktops, laptops and server are powered by ARCH |).
    It’s so easy to maintain and building packages it’s so easy even I can make my own PKGBUILD and build and I have ZERO programing skills ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sorry about my poor English.

  2. Zoran Says:

    I’ve been trying a lot of distors in the past the last one that I was stuck with for a long time was PCLinux until a week ago when I tried ArchLinux ๐Ÿ™‚
    But Arch is only for advanced users it took me almost one day to configure everything to work like it should (reading the ArchWiki for couple of hours to see how things work in Arch). This is a problem for regular users who just want things to work. Dont get me wrong Arch is great, fast and when you configure it right everything works like a charm and for now I’m sticking with it. The reason that I’m sticking with Arch and not PCLinux is the up to date reposotory which is not the case in PClinux. I’ve always wanted to have the newest apps and Arch is doing that for me really quickly. Also a big problem for me is that there isn’t any configuration tool to manipulate with your system like DrakConf, Yast etc because sometimes im so sick of typing command lines ๐Ÿ™‚ still, I’m sticking with Arch for now – a great distro.

  3. 42gems Says:

    i also reccently discovered the joys of arch linux. fast, simple, and configurable. go arch!

  4. Archer Says:

    OMG!! I freaking love Arch!!!!!

  5. YanPL Says:

    I once had a boot race: my Arch (without backgrounding the demons or othet neat speedup stuff) vs my friend’s boosted Fedora 11. Fedora won by about 2 seconds. (both boot times were around 1 minute).

    But, before you start thinking that arch isn’t as fast as everyone say:
    Fedora computer was an dual-core intel machine with 4 GB ram, and my arch was running on pentium III 500 MHz with 256 MB ram. This should tell ya what Arch can do.

    I can’t afford better hardware – so, I can’t afford worse software if I want fast solution. And Arch is the distro just for me. Slow hardware makes you notice the difference.

    If my english is not perfect, I’m sorry.

  6. fridaynoon Says:

    archlinux is great and currently using it, I use fedora,ubuntu, opensuse till now. My main problem is, it only detect 3.2GB of my ram (my ram is 4GB). Maybe I should try to use arch 64bit version.

    • Err501 Says:

      fridaynoon, this is common problem when you have 4GB RAM – if you have 64bit CPU you have two possible solutions, one install/enable PAE module (most cases you need to recomplile the kernel with support enabled) – or move to 64bit version of your system, in case having just 32bit CPU all you can do is enable PAE (physical address extension) – google for tutorials!


Leave a Reply

