Mozilla Firefox v3.0 is good, though there is room to get it even better.

August 16, 2008

Although it’s a little bit late to blog about Mozilla Firefox v3.0, I’ll do it anyway. I’ve read some good feedback about it and personally I found to be good. Mozilla has improved many things under the hood: better web standards support, better security and lots of improvements here and there.

I can tell that this new release really do have memory management improvements. There is no frequent sky-rocketing memory consumption when watching Flash videos or visiting web sites with JScript memory leaks. They have really done a good job.

Also, I can confidently say that Mozilla is making Firefox not just a simple Web browser but a platform that is going to have it remarkable share in future software development (either applications relying on it as a core/engine, or web applications).

My only two remarks about it are :

1) The newly introduced Awesome Bar still need improvements, it can be overwhelming to those who have large web browser history. I’ve found that Opera 9.51 has implemented it better than Firefox 3.0; and to those who prefer the old style, they can install OldBar and have a bar similar to Firefox 2.0.

2) Bookmarks. Although Firefox 3.0 use Sqlite as a back-end to manage bookmarks, I’ve noticed browser freezing when I try to access my bookmarks. Some may not notice it but I’ve a large Database of bookmarks (~9Mb html db file). Another thing is that when I try to add a new bookmark in a new folder, either the newly added folder don’t show up in bookmarks tree or the bookmark dialog stops responding to mouse clicks. Also, I’ve found that Firefox 2.0 provides more flexibility in handling bookmarks especially drag-and-drop operations.

Actually, I’ve both Firefox 3.0 and Firefox 2.0 installed. I use only v2.0 for my daily activities. I’ll probably move to Firefox 3.1 when it get released next year.

Leave a Reply

